The Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year program seeks to inspire excellence and dedication in public service by recognizing the outstanding career service achievements of individual public works professionals and officials, from both the public and private sectors. The primary focus of the award is on career service to the public works profession rather than on any one single event or project. It is the intent of this award to recognize the career service accomplishments of public works professionals and officials.

In order to be eligible to be nominated for the award, candidates can be from the public or private sector. They shall have a minimum of 10 years qualifying experience in one of five predetermined categories. Individuals are only eligible to receive the Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year Award on one occasion.

Any governmental entity, group, or individual may nominate candidates and nominations are particularly encouraged from APWA chapters and branches. The Top Ten are selected by a panel of judges appointed by the APWA President.

The following are the members who have been nominated over the years by the Oregon Chapter for Top Ten honors (* indicates those who have received the National award):

2024 – Russ Thomas*, Public Works Director City of Newberg

2023 – Ken Stoneman, PE, PLS, David Evans & Associates

2022 – Jenifer Willer, P.E.*, City of Eugene

2021 – Delora Kerber, P.E.*, City of Wilsonville, OSU College of Engineering newsletter article

2020 – Rick Olson, RKO & Associates

2019 – Russ Thomas, City of Newberg

2018 – Gregg Weston, 3J Consulting

2017 – Jeanne Nyquist*, Nyquist & Associates

2016 – Bob Patterson*, City of Pendleton

2015 – Eric Jones, City of Eugene

2014 – Stephanie Reid*, City of Lincoln

2013 – Gregg Weston, David Evans & Associates

2012 – Peggy Keppler*

2010 – Liane Welch, Tillamook County

2006 – Kurt Corey*, City of Eugene

2004 – Daniel J. Boss*, City of Tualatin

Back to top